I blog the way I do, and that’s it.

On an invitation by a fellow blogger, I began writing stuff on a webpage a little over a year ago. I had no experience, no idea how to do it, all I had was the desire and the place to do it. So I did. Something funny happened, I liked it. So I began writing about apps, and tricks, and tips, and pretty much anything I could think of. I then decided to start my own blog, where I could talk about tech, just not always about Apple.

I started in Spanish, but then switched to English. Why? First, I can write faster in English (not necessarily better, I’m not Hemingway), and then there’s the fact that 99% of tech news are generated from sites in English, so I said, what the hell. Let’s face it, almost all tech sites and blogs just regurgitate what others have already published. They might change a few things to mask the fact that it’s something they read somewhere else, but that’s the reality.

When I thought about that, I decided that was the direction I wanted to take my blog. Like Jim Dalrymple, or John Gruber, I almost always just link to an article and if I think I have to say something, I just write a few words and that’s it. I have a real job during the day, and can only blog in my spare time. I also have a wife and a four year old kid, it’s called having a life. So this way is also very convenient, I can keep my blog with regular updates and I don’t have to take time I barely have and invest it in masking information into an “original” post.

I don’t get invites to product launch events, and frankly, the few times I’ve been invited, I’ve had to turn them down. I like Apple, I tolerate Microsoft, and I use Gmail, Chrome, and Google Search. I don’t like Android, not the way it works, looks, or anything. That’s me. If you have problems with an Android device, I’ll help you, by directing you to the nearest store where you can get an iPhone. Same thing applies for Tablets (it’s just the iPad, let’s be honest), and computers. If you’re looking for unbiassed, keep looking, this is the wrong site for you, sorry. Plus, no one is really unbiassed, let’s cut the crap.

I change the way my page looks so often, you may think your link or bookmark is broken. I like changing things, and I’m always looking for a better template or theme, that’s me. I change backgrounds on my devices so often, you wouldn’t believe it.

I make mistakes, and I correct them. I always link to the source. And if someone sends me a tip, I give credit. If someone sees what I write and uses it on their website without giving credit, so be it. They know and I know.

I am grateful and proud of every follower and every comment, re-Tweet, and Like on Facebook. I don’t get a penny for what I do (I would like to, I’m not Mother Teresa, it just hasn’t happened yet), and I don’t have ads on my site (again, not yet, someday I might). I do get a reward by watching the stats on my page. So far, so good.

I don’t do rumors, I would love to see the pageviews go up, but rumors are so crappy and stupid… I do post concepts, I like what people come up with. If you see a link to a rumor, it’s because it’s so stupid I had to point it out, or that I think it would be cool for it to happen and it’s not so far fetched as to be imposible. Also, if Dalrymple says the rumor is right, I follow what he says, the guy knows what he’s talking about.

I don’t Jailbreak. I have nothing against it, I just don’t have any extra hardware that I can use for it, and the gear I do have is used daily. If something goes wrong, I don’t have a backup iPhone or any kind of phone for that matter. I’ll give you the link where you can get it, but that’s it.

Even if I’m late with the news, I always try to post when the announcement is official. A good and reliable source is as good as the last time they say something wrong, then it becomes another crappy rumor. Better late than sorry.

So, there you have it. My site, my rules, my choices. For good or bad, that’s how it is.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, the name Macnatico was a last minute thing I did without thinking. Mac + fanático (fanatic), I rarely go to McDonalds, so it’s not that. I still write in Spanish on YoSoyApple, from time to time.

Thank you for reading and visiting this blog.

Comments